Manyul Im’s Chinese Philosophy Blog

… 名可名非常名 …


This page is for information about upcoming conferences, including announcements, calls for papers, or program links. Any organizers, participants, or others who would like something posted should send me the information via email.


More to come


The Association of Chinese Philosophers in America [ACPA]
Submission deadline: August 10, 2009

ACPA Group Meeting at the APA Central Convention
February 17 (Wed.) – 20 (Sat.), 2010

Palmer House Hilton Hotel, Chicago

Our group meetings at the APA (American Philosophical Association) conventions have been successful in providing scholars an opportunity to try out new paper ideas and receive inputs for further development of the paper. We welcome scholars to submit completed drafts or paper abstracts. We will host one or two sessions at the APA Central Convention next year. Each session will consist of two to three papers, with commentators for each paper. We will try to organize each session in keeping with a cohesive theme. Therefore, the selection of the paper for presentation will be partially based on how well it can be worked into a good session.

Guidelines for paper/abstract submission are as follows:
1. Papers on any topic of Chinese philosophy or from a comparative approach to Chinese philosophy are welcome. Membership of the ACPA is not required for consideration or acceptance; however, all participants must have their APA as well as ACPA memberships at the time of presentation.
2. The paper should not exceed 4000 words (reading time 30 minutes). Papers must be typed, double-spaced and in reproducible condition. Please include a word count on the cover page.
3. If you wish to submit an abstract for now, please prepare it within 500 words. Lay out your key ideas in the abstract. A complete draft of the paper should be submitted no later than two months before the meeting.
4. Papers under consideration for publication or presentation elsewhere are welcome. Papers already published are not welcome.

Paper or abstract submissions should be sent electronically to all three members of the selection committee by August 10, 2009:
Dr. Weimin Sun

Dr. JeeLoo Liu

Dr. Tongdong Bai

Any inquiry concerning paper submissions can be directed to: Dr. Tongdong Bai (

%d bloggers like this: